Screen Free Week 2013 – April 29th to May 5th. (HELP!)

ImageI am a little frantic about Screen Free Week this year. You see, when my “TV-Free” year ended, I started letting the kids watch an episode of Blue’s Clues on Netflix after they do chores (IF there is no fighting about doing their chores – one complaint and it’s gone). It gives me 24 minutes of guaranteed non-fighting to be able to shower, dress myself, and prepare for the day. And chores get done without whining. Win/win). 

Also, I have a smartphone now, and I have become addicted to browsing Pinterest/loafing around Facebook/playing a few rounds of my preferred casual game of the week while rocking Little Guy before his nap. Smartphones are a little insidious – everything is all right there. And I am SO good at loafing. 

Of course, the realization that I have become dependent on screens just makes me want to take the challenge even more. 

So, I’m going to take the plunge. I’m going to send the computer away with my husband, take Facebook and games off my phone and see how it goes. Hopefully my children won’t eat me alive or leave me tied to a chair. I can’t say I would mind good weather, either.

I’ll let you know how it went next week…if I survive to tell the tale. 

Leave a Reply

