Survival of the Fittest?

We’re back!

You probably didn’t know we were gone, unless you actually noticed the lack of posts. I took the kids to Pittsburgh for a teacher training event, with a babysitting dream-team of my mom and my grandma. Or, at least, that’s how it was supposed to go on paper.

My mom and I left on July 28th, with plenty of time to pick my grandma up at the airport. Then on the thruway, a mere ten miles before we were to reach her, the car died. It gave a sputter, and then smoke started billowing from the engine and it lost power. Blargh. So, my family being awesome, my dad came to the rescue – he picked us up, picked up my grandma at the airport, and drove us all the way to our hotel.

In the morning, we were awoken before seven with a cheery “There has been an emergency. Everyone must evacuate the building” message over the intercom. We had to go out the emergency exit (that smelled like the primate house at the zoo) in our pajamas. That was fun.

Fortunately, the rest of the week was relatively uneventful, besides being car-less. I spent my days in class, my evenings scrounging for food and freezing in the pool with Little Girl, and my nights up with a cranky Little Guy (who does not like to sleep in the Pack n’ Play). My dad came back on Thursday, so we were able to get out a bit for the end of the week. We came back on Sunday after my last meeting. I am BEAT! And my family deserves sainthood for all the help they gave me.

So, survival isn’t about being the fittest – it’s about having a support team that you can count on. I am so thankful for my family!

2 thoughts on “Survival of the Fittest?

Leave a Reply

