12 Questions, Answered

One of my favorite craft bloggers, lee gets crafty, asked 12 questions of her 12 favorite bloggers. I am so honored to be on the list that I thought I’d answer! Someday I’ll ask questions of my own, but it took me so long to answer these that I’m not even going to try any time soon. Go check out Lee and her crafting exploits!

1. What was your very first project/recipe?

I have been crafting and cooking since I was very small, thanks to my mother and grandmother. I’m sure that my first project was probably something made of Popsicle sticks and cotton balls. I made a lot of things out of salt dough when I was a kid. My most vivid memory was actually creating a statuette of Ganesha out of salt dough for a Global Studies project in 9th grade. It was pretty awesome.

2. Where do you get ideas from?

Pinterest is a time black hole, for one. I could also spend way too much time on Ravelry. I also have exceptionally talented Facebook friends who inspire me. Can’t forget all the craft blogs I subscribe to, either. I suppose in short you could say that I get a lot of my inspiration online.

3. What or who inspires your crafting the most?

My daughter has infinite faith in my crafting abilities. It’s kind of an ego boost to have her say she wants something and then immediately after ask, “Mommy, can we make it?” She’s only 3, so she’ll get wise one of these days, but for the time being I like to be able to say yes when possible.

4. When are you most creative?

I am a night owl. My mind and body want so badly to stay up until 2 AM. From 10 PM-2AM I am a creative powerhouse. Unfortunately, reality dictates that I go to bed far earlier since Little Guy is a morning person.

5. What is your dream project?

I desperately want to finish a dress that I started when Little Girl was a baby. I made a dress form of myself and was trying to replicate my favorite dress when Little Girl stopped napping. I would also like to finish the YA novel I’ve been working on for the last few years.

6. What was your most frustrating project?

The dress from #5 made me spend a lot of time with a seam ripper. Making a complicated (lined, invisible zipper, bias tape piping) dress without a pattern is just asking for trouble. I don’t know what I was thinking…but when I finish it, it will be very cool.

7. What was your easiest project?

The projects I make with Little Girl are pretty easy. I like for her to be able to do at least 90% of our crafts by herself. One of my favorites is the pinwheel, for its simplicity and play power.

8. What made you decide to blog about crafting?

I didn’t exactly decide to blog about crafting. Crafting is just such a big part of what I do that it was hard to avoid having it come up in my blog. My daughter has caught the crafting bug, and I try to make something with her every day.

9. In another life, and you can’t be exactly who and what you are now, what would you be?

Hmm. I’m glad that I’m not in another life, I like how things are. If I were an animal, I would want to be a dolphin. They always look like they’re having a great time, and they always travel with a friend or two or five.

10. What crafting tool, equipment do you think every crafter cannot live without?

I suppose this would depend on the type of crafts you were making. I think for most projects I’ve made I have needed a ruler, scissors, pencil and paper for something.

11. What has helped you most in your crafting (website/magazine/blog/person)?

I have never made anything from Martha Stewart that didn’t come out great. Her staff comes up with some really cool ideas. I also love Not Martha, Threadbanger, Ravelry and Made by Rae. There is also a site called Knitting Help that I used a lot when I was learning new knitting stitches. My mom and grandma taught me how to draw and paint. And then there is my bestie MB who teaches me all kinds of awesome things, like how to tat, crochet the right way, and play dulcimer.

12. Your words to live by:

“Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.” John 6:35

One thought on “12 Questions, Answered

  1. Thank you for answering my questions 🙂 I know you’re quite busy so I’m touched you took the time to answer my questions. I’m so new to crafting that I’m curious whether people go through the same frustrations I do or if I’m just really bad at this 😀 I’m glad someone else has a very close relationship with her seam ripper. Thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

