Anatomically Correct Heart Cookies

fake heart

Little Girl wanted red sprinkles. Who could say no?

I made heart cookies with Little Girl for Valentine’s Day today. We didn’t use all the dough. (By the way, they were the “Rich Roll Cookies” from The Joy of Cooking and were phenomenally tasty). They were cute, but not exceptional.

If you know me in person, you know that I am a geek. My sister, who is sitting next to me, tried to qualify me as a “bio geek,” but then realized that no, I am just a big geek in general. I’m OK with that, now that I’m not getting shoved around in hallways. In fact, it makes life pretty cool. Like when my sister spends the night and we decide to use the extra cookie dough, our love for biology and our artistic/culinary abilities…to make anatomically correct heart cookies! 

heart cookie

What could be better than saying "I Love You" with an ACTUAL HEART?

If you remember the Groundhog Day cookie cutterI made, I used the same principle to make a heart cookie. My sister (a nursing major) drew a heart for me to copy in aluminum. It wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. I did cut myself this time, though, so my warning still stands about working with aluminum cans. Worth it.

cookie and cutter

The cookie and the cutter that made it. Getting the proper red was rather difficult, so we resorted to red sprinkles.

2 thoughts on “Anatomically Correct Heart Cookies

Leave a Reply

