Impromptu Dinner Party, and The Return of the Brownies

more tv

Little Girl likes TV. A lot. I don't like that it makes her look like this.

Little Girl has definitely not forgotten the TV. She reminisced on the greatness of Wonder Pets, Blue’s Clues, Dora and Super Why today at great length. I hope this experiment isn’t doing her a disservice in any way. I figure that many generations of intelligent people did just fine before it was invented and console myself with that knowledge. One nice thing I’ve noticed about the lack of television is that she will go by herself, pick up piles of books and sit “reading” them for a considerable amount of time each day without prompting. Today we went to the neighboring town’s library story time (didn’t get stuck this time) and my mom came over to help me with the kids so I could clean out my storage room (thanks Mom!)

My dad was picking up my mom, so I invited them to dinner. Remember that roast chicken? We picked most of the remainder of the meat off the bones and made it into chicken tacos. Accompanied with some pinto beans that I found in the cupboard and a pot of rice, it made a satisfying and easy dinner (and I didn’t have to eat plain roast chicken for the third day in a row).

chicken tacos

The deliciousness that is chicken tacos and pinto beans with cheese.

Chicken Tacos

2 cups cooked, shredded chicken meat (pick it apart with your fingers or two forks)

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup taco seasoning

Combine chicken, water and taco seasoning over heat. Taste and add more seasoning if desired. Cook until hot. Serve with your favorite taco accompaniments. We sauteed pepper and onion today and it was fabulous.

What makes a dinner party even better? Dessert! I didn’t have much around the house, but I did have the ingredients for (you guessed it) Mug Brownies. My project today: reduce the serving size! Little Girl was very pleased with her own 1/4 size mug brownie, which came out quite nicely.

1/4 size mug brownie

One tablespoon of sugar is not enough to cause Sugar Overload, thankfully.

Mini-Me Mug Brownies

1/2 Tbsp butter, melted

1 Tbsp brown sugar

1 Tbsp flour

1/2 Tbsp cocoa powder

1/2 Tbsp + water

Mix butter and brown sugar until almost dissolved. Mix in the rest of the ingredients, adding water if it seems too dry. Microwave for 20-30 seconds. Give to a very, very happy child.

For myself and Mr. NTNT, I also tried a Half Size Mug Brownie. Half the calories, all the fun.

1 Tbsp butter, melted

2 Tbsp brown sugar

2 Tbsp flour

1 Tbsp cocoa powder

1 Tbsp + water

Chocolate chips

Mix butter and brown sugar until almost dissolved. Mix in the rest of the ingredients, adding water if it seems too dry. Microwave for 30 seconds. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

