Mug Brownies: Keep Them Secret. Keep Them Safe.

Give No Candy

This is an illustration of Little Girl. This is an illustration of Little Girl on Candy.

Maybe you’re generous with treats, but I’m not. Namely, because my child becomes a foaming-at-the-mouth, high-flying ball of crazy when she has sugar. I don’t eat much sugar myself, but sometimes I just must have a treat. Sitting down at the end of a long day with my husband and eating something delicious is about as close as I get to a date these days, so I take what I can get. Last night I got Mug Brownies. After finally getting the kids to bed, I had dessert in two minutes. That is right, two short minutes to calorie-laden bliss.

Pinterest is dangerous. I got the idea when surfing. I have tried this recipe 3 times, and tweaked it because I didn’t particularly like the texture of the original. Vegetable oil works instead of butter, but make sure it’s fresh. Mine was not the first time I tried, and the outcome was unacceptable.

Fudgy Microwave Mug Brownies

Mug Brownies

If the mug says "fruit" on it, does that increase the health factor?

2 Tbsp Butter

4 Tbsp Brown Sugar. Granulated ends up like it sounds: grainy.

4 Tbsp All-Purpose Flour. I say 4, but being a little short for each tablespoon works in your favor. A higher chocolate-to-flour ratio is a good thing.

2 Tbsp Cocoa Powder

2 Tbsp Water, plus a bit more if necessary

Chocolate chips for awesomeness

Ice cream, for serving with extra flair

Melt butter in microwave in a mug or other heat-friendly receptacle. Stir in brown sugar until mostly dissolved. Whisk in flour and cocoa powder with a fork and add water until you reach the desired brownie-batter consistency. Stir in chocolate chips. Microwave on high for 1 minute, top with ice cream and NOM NOM NOM.

Brownies. In a mug.

You know you want some.

5 thoughts on “Mug Brownies: Keep Them Secret. Keep Them Safe.

    • Yeah, they are so little of a time commitment that it takes some self-control to keep them from happening all the time…but sometimes you just need a brownie and need one NOW, you know? Your blog name is hilarious, by the way.

  1. Pingback: Impromptu Dinner Party, and The Return of the Brownies | No Telly, No Trouble

  2. I was trying not to make one of these…telling myself that I didn’t have chocolate chips, nor did I have ice cream…

    But I crave sweets when I’m not pregnant, and this pregnancy has me wanting them every moment of the day! I’m enjoying my no chocolate chip no ice cream mug brownie as I type…

    🙂

Leave a Reply

