How to Make a Cookie Cutter (Without a Degree in Metallurgy)

If there are Groundhog cookie cutters out there, I have never seen one. I also wouldn’t have the cash to buy one if I did. So, when Little Girl wanted her Groundhog’s Day cookies, I had to come up with something made of a material I had around the house.

Upcycling at its finest

One night's base for chili, the next day's cookie cutter.

Unfortunately, I have to say it: if you try this at home and cut yourself on the sharp can, don’t come crying to me because I told you so. Don’t play with sharp objects without proper protection. Aluminum cans are SHARP. Little Girl was not allowed anywhere near this project and Little Guy was napping. Anyway, I don’t have anything sharp enough to cut through the edge of the metal, so I washed out the can and cut off the bottom next.

Redpack can, no top, no bottom. Ready for French beaches.

Almost ready for the cutting.

Then I took off the wrapper and used the can opener along the bottom edge of the can to cut beyond that maddening, impenetrable edge. I widened the new hole with some needle-nose pliers and started cutting up toward the top of the can with my scissors.

Cutting carefully

Again, these things are SHARP!

My cheap, old, dull scissors were not going to be able to make a hairpin turn when I got to the top inch of the can that I wanted to use for the cutter. So, I angled the cut. It is always easier to cut off more later than to try and put metal back together. Trust me.

Some cans have it coming

Note the jagged edge on the piece I am going to use for the cutter - it is sharp.

This was the tricky part. I had to kind of “filet” what was left of the ribbed part of the can so I could get to the nice smooth cookie-cutter-like part of the can. I made vertical cuts up to the smooth part, about 1/4 inch apart around the entire can, then bent the tabs up so I could cut them off with my scissors. Wear eye protection when cutting off the tabs, they want to fly.

Filet of Can

All the sharp little pieces, ready to come off. Be careful that they don't fly when you cut them!

Then I cleaned up the edge of the can with my scissors, checking frequently to make sure that the edge was level all the way around.

Biscuit cutter

You could keep this as a biscuit cutter, or continue on to shape it.

Then I used my hands to pinch a little “chin” on one end of the Groundhog’s face.

The groundhog is shaping up

Bending the holding edge is the hardest part, but bending the cutting edge is much easier.

Then I took my needle-nose pliers, travelled about halfway up from the chin and started crimping the can to make the ears.

Pliers

Pliers work well to make sharper corners than your fingers can accomplish.

Little Girl was really happy with the outcome!

Step 1-3

It all adds up to the final product!

5 thoughts on “How to Make a Cookie Cutter (Without a Degree in Metallurgy)

  1. Pingback: Gingerbread Cookies, aka Groundhog’s Day Cookies | No Telly, No Trouble

  2. Pingback: No Television: Day 7 | No Telly, No Trouble

  3. Pingback: Anatomically Correct Heart Cookies | No Telly, No Trouble

Leave a Reply

